Erik Santos: A Champion Reborn

There was one time I was randomly asked by a friend “What is your favorite Erik Santos’ song?” I must admit, one of the most mind-boggling questions to answer. I have a lot of favorite songs of Erik including songs that are not released. But, to answer the question, I gave five of my most favorites (Kung Akin Ang Mundo, I Will Never Leave You, Hindi Na Magbabago, Langit, Hanggang Kailan Kita Mamahalin) because asking me to pick just one song is like asking me to choose between my Parents.

I would have the same answer if someone will ask me “What is your favorite Erik’s album?” because he always made everything epic in his album. That’s why I wasn’t surprised when his albums sell like pancakes, always on the top-selling albums in record bars, received multi-platinum awards and used most of his songs in teleseryes and movies. It’s hard to say what my favorite album is, but I have two that are my most played albums – “Erik Santos: The Jim Brickman Songbook” and “Awit Para Sayo”. Maybe, because most of the songs hit me right in the feels with so much emotions. Well, that’s where Erik was good at after all, making us wish for a rainy day and a window to gaze out every time we listen to his songs.

Same thing goes with “What is your favorite Erik’s music video, concert, etc.,?” I can’t even sort it out in my mind because all of my favorites are subject to change as long as Erik creates great music. Just like the major change in his upcoming album and I’m talking about like a 360 degree turn. It is so inspiring and I feel proud at the same time that he took risks in doing this kind of album, far away from his comfort zone. I’ve been wanting him to do things that people don’t usually see, songs that have never been heard from him. I can guarantee, that this new sound of Erik is deliciously entertaining. I was over the moon with his new single “Tandaan Mo ‘To” along with its mind-blowing music video, absolutely unforgettable.

I am so beyond excited for everyone to see and experience the new Erik Santos. So, mark your calendar on Oct. 12. 2015 for the ESclusive grand release of the “Champion Reborn” EP Part 1 on Spotify.

IMG_2327

Leave a Reply

